Department of Chemistry

Chemistry FYP Office and COVID-19 Safety Measures

The Chemistry First Year Program takes the health and safety of Students, Faculty, and Staff seriously. Until further notice, the main FYP office located in HELD 412 will be closed to face-to-face interactions. We ask that anyone wishing to contact the main office please email chemfyp@chem.tamu.edu.

Traditional Chemistry Courses

Fundamentals of Chemistry I Credits 4. 1 lecture hour. 3 Lab Hours.

Introduction to modern theories of atomic structure and chemical bonding; chemical reactions; stoichiometry; organic chemistry; thermochemistry; states of matter; solutions; acids and bases; oxidation-reduction reactions.

Fundamentals of Chemistry II Credits 4. 1 lecture hour. 3 Lab Hours.

Colligative properties; thermodynamics and kinetics; complex equilibria and solubility products; electrochemistry; other topics: coordination chemistry; nuclear chemistry. Prerequisite: CHEM 101 and 111, CHEM 107 and 117, CHEM 119, or their equivalent.

Chemistry for Engineers Courses

General Chemistry for Engineering Students Credits 3. 1 lecture hours.

Introduction to important concepts and principles of chemistry; emphasis on areas considered most relevant in an engineering context; practical applications of chemical principles in engineering and technology. Students completing CHEM 107 and changing majors to curricula requiring CHEM 101 and CHEM 102 may substitute CHEM 107 for CHEM 101. Students may not receive credit for both CHEM 107 and CHEM 101. Students completing CHEM 107 and 117 and changing majors to curricula requiring CHEM 119 and CHEM 120 may substitute CHEM 107 and 117 for CHEM 119. Students may not receive credit for both CHEM 107 and 117 and CHEM 119.

General Chemistry for Engineering Students Laboratory Credits 1. 3 lab hours.

Introduction to important concepts and principles of chemistry in the laboratory; emphasis on areas considered most relevant in an engineering context; practical applications of chemical principles in engineering and technology. Students completing CHEM 117 and changing majors to curricula requiring CHEM 111 and CHEM 112 may substitute CHEM 117 for CHEM 111. Students may not receive credit for both CHEM 117 and CHEM 111. Students completing CHEM 107 and 117 and changing majors to curricula requiring CHEM 119 and CHEM 120 may substitute CHEM 107 and 117 for CHEM 119. Students may not receive credit for both CHEM 107 and 117 and CHEM 119.

In order to help our students purchase the correct materials and reduce the material costs, the Chemistry First Year Program has designed a webpage accessible only to those individuals with a TAMU NetID. To access the page, click the link below and log in using your TexasA&M Gmail account (NetID@tamu.edu). This requires DUO two-factor authentication. Duo can be setup at https://it.tamu.edu/duo if you have not done so already.

NOTE: If you are logged into Google with another user, you will be denied access. You must log out of any other Google accounts before being able to access the materials purchase page.

Purchase Chemistry FYP Materials

Chemistry Resources

Campus Academic Resources

Campus Student Resources

The First Year Chemistry Program presents a series of lectures from an eclectic group of speakers ranging from world-class researchers to individuals whose interests span a wide variety of topics on the outskirts of chemistry. The range of topics one finds here is also eclectic; some lectures are among the most important of our day, sometimes the lectures are just for fun.

Support for the lectures has come from:

watch the lectures
Name Function Phone email
Dr. Joanna Pellois Director 845-7112 jpellois@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Alicia Altemose Lecturer & Lab Coordinator 845-2356 aaltemose@tamu.edu
Dr. Sarbajit Banerjee Professor 862-3102 banerjee@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Ryan Bethel Senior Lecturer 845-3965 rbethel@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Larry Brown Instructional Associate Professor 845-3755 brown@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Charles "Cody" M. Folden III Associate Professor 845-1411 folden@tamu.edu
Dr. Francois Gabbai Distinguished Professor 862-2070 gabbai@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Christian Hilty Professor 845-0956 chilty@tamu.edu
Dr. Arthur Laganowsky Assistant Professor 458-0357 alaganowsky@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Edward Lee Lecturer & Lab Coordinator 845-6786 edlee@tamu.edu
Dr. Paul Lindahl Professor 845-0965 lindahl@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Stephanie McCartney Lecturer 845-3010 stephanie.mccartney@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Michael Rosynek Professor 845-3552 rosynek@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Mohamed Saber Visiting Scholar 845-7112 mrsaber@tamu.edu
Dr. Joanna San Pedro Lecturer & Lab Coordinator 862-2795 jsanpedro14@tamu.edu
Dr. Matthew Sheldon Assistant Professor 862-3101 matt.sheldon@chem.tamu.edu
Dr. Vickie Williamson Instructional Professor 845-4634 williamson@chem.tamu.edu
Veronica Hernandez Program Coordinator 845-1979 vramirez@chem.tamu.edu
Travis McCartney Administrative Coordinator I 845-3761 dtmccartney@chem.tamu.edu
Kelley Brown Technician II 845-1996 kelley.brown@chem.tamu.edu
Ken Williamson Technician II 845-1996 kwil@tamu.edu