2017 Annual Visit to Yankee's Tavern

Yankee's Tavern Group PhotoMYD Group at Yankee's Tavern


Congratulations to Professor Marcetta Darensbourg for being elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences
and being honored with the 2017 ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry!

The ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry was presented at the ACS National Meeting in San Francisco on April 4, 2017.
Left: ACS President Allison A. Campbell, Award Recipient Marcetta Y. Darensbourg, and Dr. Jerzy Klosin of Dow Chemical Company.
Right: Kristin Bowman-James, Marilyn Mackiewicz, Marcetta Y. Darensbourg klosin

Congratulations to our group members on their many successes in 2017.

Shengda Ding has been selected for the Lindau Nobel Symposium in Germany this July 2017.

Pokhraj Ghosh was selected as a speaker for the SABIC Conference in Kolkata, India in January 2017.


Current Group

Postdoctoral Researchers

Tiankun Zhao
Debangsu Sil



Nicholas Arnet
Nicholas Arnet

Graduate Researchers

Pokhraj Ghosh


The active site of the diiron hydrogenase is of particular interest to synthetic inorganic chemists for its ability to catalyze the reversible reduction of protons to form hydrogen gas. The N2S2M (M= Fe, Co, Ni) complexes are known for their  ability to lower the reduction potentials on coordination with M(CO)x. Ghosh’s work mainly focuses on the synthesis and characterization of [FeFe]-hydrogenase active site model compounds with N2S2M complexes as donor ligands.

Shengda’s research focuses on the molecular modelling of the new-generation mimics of the Fe-Fe hydrogenase, involving one or more non-innocent NO ligands. His interest includes the investigation into the electronic structures of Fe(NO)–(N2S2)–Fe(NO)2 model and its derivatives, in an effort to elucidate the vital role played by the well-delocalized electrons, which are shared by metal and its bound NOs. He is also working to propose a reasonable mechanism of H2 production catalyzed by this series of hydrogenase mimics.

Xuemei Yang

Xuemei’s research focuses on exploration of coordination complexes using N2S2 ligands with Group III metals, including synthesis and characterization of Al/Ga/In with varied N2S2 ligands. She also works on the reactions and properties of main group III metals with N2S2 complexes.

Chase Pectol
Chase Pectol

Chase's research focuses on using a biomimetic approach to determine if small metalloenzymes can function as NO sinks. The bidentate PS ligands are investigated using NMR, XRD, EPR and any other relevant analytical techniques. He also investigates the ability of the PS thiolates to bind to exogenous metal complexes like DNICs.

Chris Delaney
Christopher Delaney

Chase's research focuses on using a biomimetic approach to determine if small metalloenzymes can function as NO sinks. The bidentate PS ligands are investigated using NMR, XRD, EPR and any other relevant analytical techniques. He also investigates the ability of the PS thiolates to bind to exogenous metal complexes like DNICs.

Zachary Martinez
Zachary Martinez

Zachary's research focuses on synthesizing various iron ligands and early transition metal porphyrins in an attempt to bind them together using a cyanide bridge. Other metal ligands are also being used to bridge the porphyrins, such as copper.

Manuel Quiroz
Manuel Quiroz


Paulina Guerrero
Paulina Guerrero


Former Group Members

Member Current Position/Employer
Allen M. Lunsford, Ph.D. 2016 Postdoctoral Researcher, Texas A&M University
Jason Denny, Ph.D. 2015 Postdoctoral Researcher, Mississippi State University
Danielle Crouthers, Ph.D. 2015 Catalyst Development Research Scientist, Inaeris Technologies
Randara Pulukkody, Ph.D. 2015 Senior Research & Development Chemist, Dow Chemical Company
Ryan Bethel, Ph.D. 2014 Lecturer, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
Tiffany Pinder, Ph.D. 2013 Senior Chemist, Halliburton, Houston, TX
Scott Brothers, Ph.D. 2011 Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Bethany College
Jennifer Hess Young, Ph.D. 2011 Assistant Professor, Azusa Pacific University
Michael L. Singleton, Ph.D. 2010 Assistant Professor, Université catholique de Louvain
Roxanne Jenkins, Ph.D. 2010 Associate Research Scientist, Dow Chemical Company
Tianbiao Liu, Ph.D. 2009 Inorganic Assistant Professor, Utah State University
Elky Almaraz, Ph.D. 2008 Attorney, San Antonio, TX
Kayla N. Green, Ph.D. 2007 Assistant Professor, Texas Christian University
Jesse W. Tye, Ph.D. 2006 Associate Professor, Ball State University
Stephen P. Jeffery, Ph.D. 2006 Production Manager, Umicore Precious Metals Chemistry
Marilyn Rampersad Mackiewicz, Ph.D. 2005 Research Assistant Professor, Portland State University
Chao-Yi Chiang, Ph.D. 2005 Assistant Professor, Providence University, Taiwan
Melissa L. Golden, Ph.D. 2004 Associate Professor, Fresno State University
Rosario Mejia Rodriguez, Ph.D. 2004 Professor, Universidad Autonoma de Queretaro, Mexico
Matthew L. Miller, Ph.D. 2003 Principal Scientist, Newpark Drilling Fluids, The Woodlands, TX
Irene P. Georgakaki, Ph.D. 2002 Government Laboratory, Greece
Xuan Zhao, Ph.D. 2002 Associate Professor, University of Memphis
Erica J. Lyon, Ph.D. 2000 Assistant Professor, Bellarmine University
Jason J. Smee, Ph.D. 2000 Associate Professor, University of Texas at Tyler
John A. Bellefeuille, Ph.D. 1999 Associate Professor, Central Methodist University
Chia-Huei Lai, Ph.D. 1998 Homemaker
Craig A. Grapperhaus, Ph.D. 1998 Professor, University of Louisville
Ghezai Musie, Ph.D. 1997 Associate Professor, University of Texas-San Antonio
Rizalia Buonomo Klausmeyer, Ph.D. 1996 Associate Director of the Office of Prehealth Studies, Lecturer, Baylor University
Dawn Goodman Mason, Ph.D. 1996 Eastman Chemical, Tennessee
Jeng Sub Kim, Ph.D. 1996 Industrial Chemist, Korea
Thawatchai Tuntulani, Ph.D. 1995 Professor, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok
Ivan Font, Ph.D. 1994 Merck Pharmaceuticals, Puerto Rico
Steve Chojnacki, Ph.D. 1993 Author and Chemistry Educator
Sheryl Wander, Ph.D. 1993 National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Yui May Hsaio, Ph.D. 1993 I.E. Dupont Corporation, Taipei, Taiwan
Patrick Farmer, Ph.D. 1993 Professor and Chair - Department of Chem. and Biochem., Baylor University, Waco, TX
Daniel Mills, Ph.D. 1991 Industrial Chemist, Ohio
Stephen Houliston, Ph.D. 1991 Industrial Chemist, Minnesota
Chris Janzen, Ph.D. 1991 Dean, Faculty of Technology and Trades, Algonquin College
Charles Riordan, Ph.D. 1990 Professor, University of Delaware
Jerry Springs, Ph.D. 1989 Kior, Houston, Texas
Wen Feng Liaw, Ph.D. 1989 Professor, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
Kay (Youngdahl) Blohowiak, Ph.D. 1987 Technical Fellow, The Boeing Company
Maria Ludvig, Ph.D. 1987 Albemarle Corporation, Houston, Texas
Carlton Ash, Ph.D. 1987 Shell Corporation
Yong Kwang Park, Ph.D. 1986 Professor, Kangwon National University, Korea
Patricia Tooley, Ph.D. 1986 Dupont Inc., Delaware
Larry Arndt, Ph.D. 1986 Industrial Chemist, Illinois
John Michael Hanckel, Ph.D. 1984 BASF Corporation, Charleston, SC
Haroldo Barros, Ph.D. 1980  

Please forward any corrections/updates to:darensbourg_asst@chem.tamu.edu

Chemistry Department -- Texas A&M University -- 3255 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843 -- 979.845.5417