The research in our group is organized around three main projects: 1) nanoscale materials and devices, 2) biological surfaces and interfaces, and 3) nanotribology, with the overarching goal of developing custom engineered surfaces and interfaces. research overview

Group News

  • Quentarius Moore was awarded a Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF) to support his research. (click here for details)
  • Dr. Batteas was honored by Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students with a 2017 Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching at a ceremony held in Rudder Theater on April 24. (link to article)
  • Meagan Elinski is a 2017 Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship recipient. (photo)
  • Dr. Batteas received a Presidential Award for Service to NOBCChE and the STEM Community at the 42nd Annual "Bridging Generations Through STEM" National Conference held in Orlando, Florida September 22-26, 2015. (photo)
  • Dr. Batteas has joined the Advisory Board for ACS Central Science, a new open-access journal from the American Chemical Society featuring interdisciplinary research.
  • Jessica Spear received a poster prize at the 2014 STLE meeting, and her award was highlighted in the Tribology and Lubrication Technology journal.
  • Meagan Elinski received Honorable Mention for the 2014 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.
  • Stephanie Skiles won First Place Poster Prize at the TAMU Student Research Week.
  • Brad Ewers was awarded the Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship. (photo)
  • Brad Ewers received the 2014 Association of Former Students Distinguished Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Teaching.
  • Jessica Spear received the best student poster award from the COLL Division at the National ACS Meeting in Dallas.