Department of Chemistry

F. A. Cotton Medal for Excellence Chemical Research

The F. A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research was established in 1994 by the Texas A&M Section of the American Chemical Society and the Chemistry Department of Texas A&M University. First awarded on March 31, 1995 to Frank Albert Cotton, the medal is supported by an initial endowment of over $100,000. The funds were raised, in conjunction with Contemporary Inorganic Chemistry: A Symposium in Honor of F.A. Cotton, by Carlos A. Murillo, a long-time friend and co-worker. The F. A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research is awarded annually and recognizes accomplishments in research rather than distinction of any other sort, no matter how meritorious. The award is not restricted by gender, country, or branch of chemistry.

F.A. Cotton Medalist

Harry B. Gray

California Institute of Technology

Invited speakers

Marcetta Darensbourg

Texas A&M University

Michael B. Hall

Texas A&M University

Richard Eisenberg

University of Rochester

Symposium Schedule

2:00 pm – 2:45 pm

Marcetta Darensbourg and Michael B. Hall, Texas A&M University

2:50 pm – 3:35 pm     

Richard Eisenberg, University of Rochester

3:35 pm – 4:00 pm


4:00 pm – 4:45 pm

Harry B, Gray, California Institute of Technology, Cotton Medalist Lecture

4:45 pm – 5:00 pm

Closing Remarks


Dinner at Traditions Club. RSVP required*


*Contact Julie Zercher,, for information about the dinner.