Department of Chemistry

Traditional Track

Fundamentals of Chemistry I Credits 3. 3 lecture hours.

Introduction to modern theories of atomic structure and chemical bonding; chemical reactions; stoichiometry; organic chemistry; thermochemistry; states of matter; solutions; acids and bases; oxidation-reduction reactions.

Fundamentals of Chemistry II Credits 3. 3 lecture hours.

Colligative properties; thermodynamics and kinetics; complex equilibria and solubility products; electrochemistry; other topics: coordination chemistry; nuclear chemistry. Prerequisite: CHEM 101, 103, 107 or their equivalent.

Engineering Track

General Chemistry for Engineering Students Credits 3. 3 lecture hours.

Introduction to important concepts and principles of chemistry; emphasis on areas considered most relevant in an engineering context; practical applications of chemical principles in engineering and technology. Students completing CHEM 107 and changing majors to curricula requiring CHEM 101 and CHEM 102 may substitute CHEM 107 for CHEM 101. Students may not receive credit for both CHEM 107 and CHEM101.

Tutoring

  • Chemistry Help Desk: HELD 406; Monday-Wednesday: 8am-6pm, Thursday-Friday: 8am-5pm; TA not always present
  • Academic Success Center - provides Supplemental Instruction (SI) and tutoring free of charge to all Texas A&M University students.
  • Center for Multicultural Services - provides free personalized academic assistance and course-specific peer tutoring.

Strategies for Success

Other Learning Resources

Isotopes

The concept of isotopes is introduced to high school chemistry students. However, it is important for graduate students in all fields of chemistry to understand what they are and how to apply their uses in research. Here you will find information about isotopes and mass spectrometry.

Mass Spectrometry

Nuclear Chemistry

Isotopes must be understood in the study of nuclear chemistry. Unstable isotopes of an element may decompose into other elements and release energy. Here is an example. Uranium is one of the most widely know elements in nuclear technology. A radioactive isotope of this element (uranium-235) will break down into thorium-231 and helium-4 according to the following reaction.

nuclear reaction

The helium atom in this reaction contains no electrons. Therefore, it has a charge of 2+, and is also called an alpha particle. Notice that the number of protons and neutrons is additive.

92 = 90 + 2
235 = 231 + 4

Here is another classic decomposition reaction. Phosphorus-32 will change into sulfur-32, and an electron and a gamma ray are emitted.

nuclear reaction

An electron is also called a beta particle. A gamma ray is a photon of light that contains a lot of energy, and is very dangerous.

The First Year Chemistry Program presents a series of lectures from an eclectic group of speakers ranging from world-class researchers to individuals whose interests span a wide variety of topics on the outskirts of chemistry. The range of topics one finds here is also eclectic; some lectures are among the most important of our day, sometimes the lectures are just for fun.

Support for the lectures has come from Dow Chemical, the TAMU College of Science, and - for several years - from Cengage publishing. Upcoming lectures will be sponsored by Macmillan publishing.

watch the lectures
Name Function Phone email
Dr. Timothy Hughbanks Director 845-0215 trh@chem.tamu.edu
Bethel, Dr. Ryan Lecturer 845-3965 rbethel@chem.tamu.edu
Brown, Kelley Technician II 845-1996 kelley.brown@chem.tamu.edu
Brown, Dr. Larry Instructional Assistant Professor 845-3755 brown@chem.tamu.edu
Collins, Dr. Daniel P. Lecturer 845-3472 daniel.p.collins@tamu.edu
Eller, Dr. Michael Lecturer 845-2344 meller@chem.tamu.edu
Folden, Dr. Cody Professor 845-7112 folden@comp.tamu.edu
Hilty, Dr. Christian Professor 845-0956 chilty@tamu.edu
Junek, Terry Technician II 845-1996 terry.junek@chem.tamu.edu
Kolar, Dr. Frank Technical Lab Coordinator 845-1997 kolar@chem.tamu.edu
Lee, Dr. Edward Technical Lab Coordinator 845-6786 edlee@tamu.edu
McCartney, Dr. Stephanie Lecturer 845-3010 stephanie.mccartney@chem.tamu.edu
McCartney, Travis Lead Office Associate 845-3761 dtmccartney@chem.tamu.edu
Pellois, Dr. Joanna Senior Lecturer 845-7112 jpellois@chem.tamu.edu
Ramirez, Veronica Program Coordinator 845-1979 vramirez@chem.tamu.edu
Sheldon, Dr. Matthew Assistant Professor 862-3101 sheldonm@tamu.edu
Williamson , Dr. Vickie Instructional Associate Professor 845-4634 williamson@chem.tamu.edu