2011 Executive Committee:

Chair: Oleg V. Ozerov

Secretary: Christian Hilty

Treasurer: Dong Hee Son

Councilor: David Bergbreiter

Alternate Councilor: Wendy Keeney-Kennicutt


2011 F. A. Cotton Symposium
George Whitesides
Cotton Banquet 2011

Professor George Whitesides, Woodford L. and Ann A. Flowers University Professor at Harvard University, received the 2011 F. A. Cotton Medal Award for Excellence in Chemical Research.

Symposium lectures were given by Professors Henry S. White of the University of Utah and Karen L. Wooley of Texas A&M University.

The reception dinner was held at Christopher's World Grille on April 6, 2011.

Professor R. Graham Cooks, Henry B. Hass Distinguished Professor of Analytical Chemistry at Purdue University, has been selected as the 2012 Cotton Medal recipient. The 2012 Award ceremony will take place on April 24, 2012.
2011 A. I. Scott Symposium
Hung-Wen Liu
Ben Liu

Professor Hung-Wen (Ben) Liu, George H. Hitchings Regents Chair in Drug Design at the University of Texas at Austin received the 2011 A. I. Scott Medal for Excellence in Biological Chemistry Research.

Symposium lectures were given by Professors Squire Booker of Penn State University and Ben Shen of Scripps Florida.

The reception dinner was held at Christopher's World Grille on October 7, 2011.

2011 Fall Banquet

Winetasting at MH

Guest speaker

The 2011 Fall Banquet was held on November 18 at Messina Hof Wineries. Dr. George Ray McEachern of the Horticulture Dept. at Texas A&M University was the guest speaker. He spoke of the ongoing "Wine Quality Revolution".

2011 ACS Southwest Regional Conference

Ozerov Group
Stephanie Wilson
The 2011 Southwest Regional Conference was held in Austin, Texas on November 9-12.
2011 Chemistry Open House
Chem Open House 2011
Chem Open House 2011

Chemistry Awards

2011 Undergraduate Awards

2011 Texas Junior Science and Humanities Symposium